12 anti-China disruptors given sentences for participating in unauthorized assembly in Hong Kong

Photo: AP

HONG KONG, Sept. 15 (Xinhua) -- Twelve anti-China disruptors in Hong Kong were sentenced by the District Court of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region on Wednesday to up to 10 months in prison for taking part in an unauthorized assembly on June 4 last year.

The 12 defendants participated in an unauthorized assembly in Victoria Park on June 4, 2020, during which they entered the park despite being barred by the police, and shouted anti-national security law slogans.

The 12 defendants were Albert Ho Chun-yan, Figo Chan Ho-wun, Andrew Wan Siu-kin, Cheung Man-kwong, Steven Kwok Wing-kin, Chiu Yan-loy, Mak Hoi-wah, Leung Kwok-wah, Cyd Ho Sau-lan, Leung Kwok-hung, Eddie Chu Hoi-dick and Yeung Sum.

The above persons earlier pleaded guilty to the charges.

Albert Ho Chun-yan, Figo Chan Ho-wun and Andrew Wan Siu-kin were sentenced to 10 months in prison. Steven Kwok Wing-kin and Chiu Yan-loy were sentenced to eight months in prison. Cyd Ho Sau-lan, Leung Kwok-hung, Eddie Chu Hoi-dick and Yeung Sum were sentenced to six months in prison, while Cheung Man-kwong, Mak Hoi-wah and Leung Kwok-wah received suspended sentences.