CHINA Platforms for promoting bay area cooperation to get further support


Platforms for promoting bay area cooperation to get further support


18:55, July 09, 2019

South China's Guangdong provincial authorities have vowed to further support the joint building of platforms for promoting Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area cooperation and development, including Qianhai of Shenzhen City, Nansha of Guangzhou City and Hengqin of Zhuhai City.


(File Photo: CGTN)

The move comes as part of the action plan for 2018 to 2020, which was recently published online by Guangdong's leading group for advancing the Greater Bay Area construction, boasting a total of 100 key measures.

Great efforts will be made to optimize and improve Qianhai as a modern services cooperation area, including exploring ways to ease restrictions on market entry and business development of investors from Hong Kong and Macao special administrative regions (SAR) in setting up banking, securities and insurance institutions in Shenzhen and conducting green finance cooperation between Shenzhen and Hong Kong SAR, the plan said.

The plan stressed building Nansha into a model area for Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao partnership, saying Guangdong will step up all-round cooperation with Hong Kong SAR and Macao SAR to expedite construction within the Greater Bay Area's international shipping, finance and sci-tech innovation sectors.


Zhuhai City, south China's Guangdong Province. (File Photo: VCG)

Vowing to advance deeper cooperation among Guangdong, Hong Kong SAR and Macao SAR in Hengqin, Zhuhai City, the plan called for high standards in building an international leisure and tourism island in Hengqin.

Guangdong will support the development of the Shenzhen-Hong Kong science and technology innovation cooperation zone, the plan said, calling for establishing an open scientific research system that is jointly built and shared by Shenzhen and Hong Kong SAR, according to the plan.

Chinese authorities in February 2019 unveiled the outline development plan for the Greater Bay Area, aiming to develop the region into "a role model of high-quality development."

The Greater Bay Area consists of Hong Kong SAR and Macao SAR, as well as nine cities in Guangdong – Guangzhou, Shenzhen, Zhuhai, Foshan, Huizhou, Dongguan, Zhongshan, Jiangmen and Zhaoqing.

Related Stories

Terms of Service & Privacy Policy

We have updated our privacy policy to comply with the latest laws and regulations. The updated policy explains the mechanism of how we collect and treat your personal data. You can learn more about the rights you have by reading our terms of service. Please read them carefully. By clicking AGREE, you indicate that you have read and agreed to our privacy policies

Agree and continue