CHINA Taiwan lists four more high-risk countries over Omicron


Taiwan lists four more high-risk countries over Omicron


20:40, November 29, 2021

TAIPEI, Nov. 29 (Xinhua) -- Taiwan will add Malawi, Mozambique, Egypt, and Nigeria to its list of "key high-risk countries" starting Dec. 1 amid concerns over the new Omicron variant of COVID-19, the island's disease monitoring agency said Monday.

People wearing masks walk on street in Taipei, southeast China's Taiwan, March 30, 2020. (Xinhua/Jin Liwang)

The decision came in response to the increasing spread of the potentially highly transmissible Omicron variant in the four countries, the agency said.

Taiwan has already listed six countries as "key high-risk countries" since Monday due to the spread of Omicron there.

The COVID-19 epidemic has eased on the island, with only imported confirmed cases reported in recent days.

Terms of Service & Privacy Policy

We have updated our privacy policy to comply with the latest laws and regulations. The updated policy explains the mechanism of how we collect and treat your personal data. You can learn more about the rights you have by reading our terms of service. Please read them carefully. By clicking AGREE, you indicate that you have read and agreed to our privacy policies

Agree and continue