CULTURE Colin Currie Percussion Quartet


Colin Currie Percussion Quartet

23:16, August 17, 2018

The Colin Currie Quartet was formed in 2018 by Colin Currie to present the diverse works written for percussion quartet. Comprising of Colin Currie, Owen Gunnell, Adrian Spillett and Sam Walton, the players form the core of the Colin Currie Group, and in this new collective they perform works by Steve Reich and branch out into other composers who have been swept along by that highly influential force.


Cover photo:

Their 2018/19 debut season performances include the China NCPA and Wigmore Hall, amongst others. A dominant premiere in their first season is a substantial new work for four marimbas by Kevin Volans, and other works in their debut programme include Joseph Pereira’s Mallet Quartet alongside solo pieces by Xenakis and Stockhausen, performed by Currie.

As some of the world’s leading solo, symphonic and chamber percussionists each player of the quartet brings a different and insightful slant to the art of chamber percussion performance, and the group will be adding substantially to its repertoire in the coming years.

Venue: Concert Hall, NCPA

Date: August 24, 2018

Box office

North Gate of NCPA, No. 2 West Chang'an Avenue, Xicheng District, Beijing, China

Tickets collection hours

9:30-19:30 (CST) on performance day

9:30-18:00 (CST) for days without performance

Booking line

+86 10 6655 0000

Booking hours

9:30-18:00 (CST) Monday to Friday

Related Stories

Terms of Service & Privacy Policy

We have updated our privacy policy to comply with the latest laws and regulations. The updated policy explains the mechanism of how we collect and treat your personal data. You can learn more about the rights you have by reading our terms of service. Please read them carefully. By clicking AGREE, you indicate that you have read and agreed to our privacy policies

Agree and continue