Top Chinese swimmers to compete in FINA Champions Swim Series 2019


(Photo: CGTN)

The international swimming federations FINA on Friday released the list of athletes participating in the three-leg FINA Champions Swim Series 2019, with China's top swimmers Sun Yang, Xu Jiayu and Fu Yuanhui all invited to attend all three competitions.

Each of the three will participate in two events as follows: Sun in the men's 200-meter and 400-meter freestyle; Xu in the men's 100m and 200m backstroke and Fu in the women's 50m and 100m backstroke.

The first stop of the Champions Series will be in Guangzhou, south China's Guangdong Province between April 27 and 28.

As the host, China will send 21 swimmers to the pool.

In the men's events, besides Sun and Xu, Wang Shun will attend the 200m freestyle, Li Guangyuan the 200m backstroke, Li Zhuhao the 100m and 200m butterfly stroke, Qin Haiyang the 200m breaststroke, and Wang Shun, Qin Haiyang and Wang Yizhe the 200m medley.

In the women's events, besides Fu Yuanhui, Shi Jinglin will compete in the 50m, 100m and 200m breaststroke, Li Bingjie and Wang Jianjiahe in the 200m freestyle, Li Bingjie, Wang Jianjiahe and Zhang Yuhan in the 400m freestyle, Liu Xiang in the 50m backstroke, Peng Xuwei and Liu Yaxin in the 200m backstroke, Feng Junyang in the 50m breaststroke, Yu Jingyao in the 100m breaststroke, Yu Jingyao and He Yun in the 200m breaststroke, Zhang Yufei in the 200m butterfly stroke, and Zhou Min and Zhang Sisi in the 200m medley.

The second stop will be in Budapest, capital of Hungary between May 11 and 12. Besides Sun Yang, Xu Jiayu and Fu Yuanhui, Wang Shun will participate in the men's 200m medley, Li Bingjie and Wang Jianjiahe in the women's 400m freestyle, and Shi Jinglin in the women's 200m breaststroke.

The third stop will be in Minneapolis, Minnesota, between May 31 and June 1. Besides Sun Yang, Xu Jiayu and Fu Yuanhui, China's Wang Shun will attend the 200m freestyle and 200m medley.

The FINA invited 45 men from 15 countries and regions and 37 women from 17 countries and regions to attend the brand new Champion Series, meaning that only the world's top swimmers have the chance to compete in the three stops. For example, Sun Yang will face competition from America's Townley Haas, Italy's Gabriele Detti and Lithuania's Danas Rapsys.