Five countries elected non-permanent members of UN Security Council

Algeria, Guyana, the Republic of Korea, Sierra Leone and Slovenia were elected non-permanent members of the UN Security Council on Tuesday for a two-year term.

Photo taken on March 10, 2020 shows the visitors' entrance to the United Nations headquarters in New York. (Photo: Xinhua)

The newly elected members will take up their new responsibilities on January 1, 2024 and serve till December 31, 2025.