Algeria, Guyana, Republic of Korea, Sierra Leone, Slovenia elected non-permanent members of UN Security Council

UNITED NATIONS, June 6 (Xinhua) -- Algeria, Guyana, Republic of Korea, Sierra Leone, and Slovenia were elected non-permanent members of the UN Security Council on Tuesday for a two-year term.

File photo: CGTN

The newly elected members will take up their new responsibilities on Jan. 1, 2024, and serve till Dec. 31, 2025.

Algeria, Guyana, the Republic of Korea, and Sierra Leone were running unopposed on Tuesday. Slovenia and Belarus contended for the one seat for Eastern Europe.

The five newly elected members will replace the outgoing non-permanent members of Albania, Brazil, Gabon, Ghana, and the United Arab Emirates.

The Security Council is considered the most powerful body of the United Nations. The council, which is tasked to maintain international peace and security, can make legally binding decisions and has the power to impose sanctions and authorize the use of force.