Malaysia adds entry points for visa on arrival program for Chinese tourists


Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. (Photo: VCG)

Malaysia will grant visa-on-arrival to six more entry points for Chinese tourists, the government announced on Friday.

Malaysia's home ministry announced the new measures for tourists from China and India with an expected increased influx for the Visit Malaysia Year 2020 campaign.

The visa is conditional however and those seeking to use it must enter the country through Thailand, Singapore, Indonesia or Brunei and is subject to the same security measures at any of the country's international entry points effective from July 15, the home ministry said in a statement.

The locations includes the Langkawi International Airport, Bukit Kayu Hitam Immigration, Customs, Quarantine and Security Complex (ICQS) in Kedah state that borders Thailand, the Sungai Tujoh ICQS that borders Brunei, ferry terminal the Labuan Island, Miri International Airport in Sarawak state and the Sultan Abdul Aziz Shah International Airport in Selangor state.

The move includes relaxing entry requirements to facilitate entry for tourists from the two countries, such as lowering the mandatory amount of money carried by tourists upon entry from 1,000 US dollars to 500 US dollars.

Other measures include extending the duration of the visa from seven days to 15 days and lowering the charge from 330 ringgit (80 US dollars) to 200 ringgit (48 US dollars), with the ministry saying the measures were to increase international tourist arrivals and to encourage spending during their stay.

Currently the visa-on-arrival program applies to Chinese tourists arriving from Thailand, Indonesia and Singapore via five airports: Kuala Lumpur International Airport, Senai International Airport in southern Johor state, Kota Kinabalu International Airport in Sabah state, Kuching International Airport in Sarawak state, and Penang International Airport in Penang state.