HEADLINE 6 countries join UN Security Council


6 countries join UN Security Council


09:35, January 02, 2018

Six countries commenced their non-permanent membership seats at the United National Security Council (UNSC) on Monday.

Ivory Coast, Equatorial Guinea, Kuwait, Peru, and Poland will hold a two-year term while the Netherlands has a one-year tenure as it is sharing a two-year term with Italy.

The UNSC consists of five veto-wielding permanent members – Britain, China, France, Russia and the United States-and 10 non-permanent members elected by the organization’s General Assembly for a term of two years.

Egypt, Japan, Senegal, Ukraine and Uruguay, as well as Italy, have just left the Security Council.

According to the UN Charter, the Security Council is considered to be the only UN body whose resolutions are legally binding to all member states.

Related Stories

Terms of Service & Privacy Policy

We have updated our privacy policy to comply with the latest laws and regulations. The updated policy explains the mechanism of how we collect and treat your personal data. You can learn more about the rights you have by reading our terms of service. Please read them carefully. By clicking AGREE, you indicate that you have read and agreed to our privacy policies

Agree and continue