SPORTS Women's volleyball: China drawn with USA, Russia at Tokyo Olympics


Women's volleyball: China drawn with USA, Russia at Tokyo Olympics


10:40, February 01, 2020

China's women's volleyball team, the three-time Olympic champions, have been pooled to take on USA, Russia, Italy, Argentina and Turkey in Pool B of the 2020 Olympics Games, which will be held from July 24 to August 9 in Tokyo, Japan.

Zhu Ting #2 of China spikes a shot against the Netherlands during the 31st Summer Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, August 6, 2016. (Photos: VCG)

Team China won the Olympic gold medals in 1984, 2004 and 2016.

According to the International Volleyball Federation (FIVB), both men's and women's volleyball pool composition for the Tokyo Olympics has been confirmed on Friday, with 12 qualified teams per gender splitting into two singles round robin pools of six.

China women's volleyball team (in red) beat Team USA 3-0 to win gold during the 23rd Summer Olympic Games in Los Angles, U.S., August 7, 1984.

12 qualified women's teams

Pool A

Japan, Serbia, Brazil, South Korea, Dominican Republic, Kenya

Pool B

China, USA, Russia, Italy, Argentina, Turkey

12 qualified men's teams

Pool A

Japan, Poland, Italy, Canada, Iran, Venezuela

Pool B

Brazil, USA, Russia, Argentina, France, Tunisia

Related Stories

Terms of Service & Privacy Policy

We have updated our privacy policy to comply with the latest laws and regulations. The updated policy explains the mechanism of how we collect and treat your personal data. You can learn more about the rights you have by reading our terms of service. Please read them carefully. By clicking AGREE, you indicate that you have read and agreed to our privacy policies

Agree and continue