TECH Russia launches manned spacecraft to space station

TECH

Russia launches manned spacecraft to space station

CGTN

15:17, July 22, 2019

Russia's Soyuz MS-13 spacecraft carrying three astronauts successfully took off for the International Space Station (ISS) and entered the planned orbit Saturday, Russian state space corporation Roscosmos said.

e73e495dd8d04664907ffee560f5ffe8.png

A Soyuz-FG rocket booster carrying the Soyuz MS-13 spacecraft with Roscosmos cosmonaut Alexander Skvortsov, NASA astronaut Andrew R Morgan, and European Space Agency (ESA) astronaut Luca Parmitano aboard lifts off to the ISS from the Baikonur Cosmodrome, July 20, 2019. (Photo: VCG)

The Soyuz-FG rocket blasted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 19:28 Moscow time (16:28 GMT), Roscosmos said in a press release.

At 19:37 Moscow time (16:37 GMT), the spacecraft detached from the third launch vehicle stage and continued its autonomous flight to the ISS under the guidance of specialists from the Russian Mission Control Center.

Soyuz MS-13, carrying Roscosmos astronaut Alexander Skvortsov (commander), Luca Parmitano (flight engineer-1) from Italy and Andrew Morgan (flight engineer-2) of the United States, will automatically approach the ISS and dock to it at 01:50 Moscow time Sunday (22:50 GMT Saturday).

The new expedition will join Roscosmos astronaut Alexei Ovchinin, and NASA astronauts Nick Hague and Christina Koch on the ISS.

The space launch was conducted on the 50th anniversary of the moon landing of the U.S. Apollo 11 spacecraft.

Commander Neil Armstrong descended a ladder onto the lunar surface and became the first man to complete what he famously described as "one small step for man, one giant leap for mankind."

Related Stories

Terms of Service & Privacy Policy

We have updated our privacy policy to comply with the latest laws and regulations. The updated policy explains the mechanism of how we collect and treat your personal data. You can learn more about the rights you have by reading our terms of service. Please read them carefully. By clicking AGREE, you indicate that you have read and agreed to our privacy policies

Agree and continue