WORLD 6.8-magnitude quake jolts eastern Indonesia, no tsunami alert issued

WORLD

6.8-magnitude quake jolts eastern Indonesia, no tsunami alert issued

Xinhua

09:29, September 26, 2019

JAKARTA, Sept. 26 (Xinhua) -- A 6.8-magnitude earthquake struck off Indonesia's eastern Maluku province early on Thursday, but there was no risk of a tsunami, the Meteorology and Geophysics Agency said.

VCG111251343918.jpg

A damaged traditional market building is pictured following an earthquake in Ambon, Maluku province, September 26, 2019. (Photo: VCG)

The tremor of the quake caused minor damages to infrastructure facilities, disaster agency officials said.

The quake rocked at 6:46 a.m. Jakarta time Thursday (2346 GMT Wednesday) with the epicenter 40 km northeast Ambon, the capital city of the province, at a depth of 10 km, the agency said.

"This quake is not potential to trigger tsunami, so that no warning was issued," official at the agency Alfart Abubakar told Xinhua.

An aftershock of 5.6 magnitude followed the main shock at 7:39 a.m. Jakarta time (0039 GMT), he said.

The quake caused minor damages to a building of Patimura university and cracks on a bridge in the city, spokesman of the National Disaster Management Agency Agus Wibowo told Xinhua.

Indonesia is vulnerable to earthquake as the country lies on a quake-prone zone of the "Pacific Ring of Fire." 

Related Stories

Terms of Service & Privacy Policy

We have updated our privacy policy to comply with the latest laws and regulations. The updated policy explains the mechanism of how we collect and treat your personal data. You can learn more about the rights you have by reading our terms of service. Please read them carefully. By clicking AGREE, you indicate that you have read and agreed to our privacy policies

Agree and continue