WORLD Abdel Fattah al-Burhan sworn in as chairman of Sudan's sovereign council


Abdel Fattah al-Burhan sworn in as chairman of Sudan's sovereign council


19:08, August 21, 2019

KHARTOUM, Aug. 21 (Xinhua) -- Abdel Fattah al-Burhan on Wednesday was sworn in before the Judicial Council as chairman of Sudan's newly-formed sovereign council.


Lighthouse in Sanganeb Atoll Marine National park in Sudan, World Heritage Site. (Photo:

Al-Burhan took the constitutional oath before Acting Chief Justice Yahia al-Tayeb Abu Shoura at the presidential palace in the capital Khartoum.

Al-Burhan, who was chairman of Sudan's Transitional Military Council (TMC), on Tuesday issued a constitutional decree to form a joint sovereign council of 11 members.

The other members of the sovereign council are expected to take the oath later on Wednesday before the council chairman and the acting chief justice.

Under the deal recently signed by the TMC and the opposition Freedom and Change Alliance, the sovereign council comprises 11 members, including five military members chosen by the TMC, five civilian members chosen by the opposition alliance, and one civilian selected through consultation by the two sides.

A constitutional decree is expected to be issued later on Wednesday to dissolve the TMC, which has been running the country's affairs since the ouster of former President Omar al-Bashir on April 11. 

Related Stories

Terms of Service & Privacy Policy

We have updated our privacy policy to comply with the latest laws and regulations. The updated policy explains the mechanism of how we collect and treat your personal data. You can learn more about the rights you have by reading our terms of service. Please read them carefully. By clicking AGREE, you indicate that you have read and agreed to our privacy policies

Agree and continue