WORLD Albanian president dismisses 7 ministers


Albanian president dismisses 7 ministers


08:14, January 07, 2019

Albanian President Ilir Meta arriving for a State Dinner at the Musee d'Orsay in Paris, France, for the centenary of the end of World War I on November 10, 2018. (Photo: VCG )

Albanian President Ilir Meta has dismissed seven out of the eight ministers proposed by Prime Minister Edi Rama, announced the president's press office on Saturday.

The seven dismissed were Lindita Nikolla as Minister of Education, Youth and Sports, Damian Gjiknuri as Minister of Infrastructure and Energy, Arben Ahmetaj as Minister of Finance and Economy, Niko Peleshi as Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development, Sonila Qato as Minister of Entrepreneurship, and Mirela Kumbaro as Minister of Culture.

According to the press release, Minister for Europe and Foreign Affairs Ditmir Bushati remains. 

Moreover, Meta has appointed Elisa Spiropali as state minister for relations with Parliament, Erjon Braçe as Deputy Prime Minister, and Bledi Cuci as Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development.

The new ministers are expected to be sworn in at the January 21 parliament session.

According to local media reports, Prime Minister Edi Rama has visited the presidency on Friday and has handed the dismissals and new appointments for the presidential decree. 

On December 28, Rama announced the changes in the government, including the dismissals of seven ministers and the deputy prime minister and the appointment of a new state minister for relations with parliament.

Related Stories

Terms of Service & Privacy Policy

We have updated our privacy policy to comply with the latest laws and regulations. The updated policy explains the mechanism of how we collect and treat your personal data. You can learn more about the rights you have by reading our terms of service. Please read them carefully. By clicking AGREE, you indicate that you have read and agreed to our privacy policies

Agree and continue