WORLD Austria vetoes Bulgaria, Romania joining Schengen area


Austria vetoes Bulgaria, Romania joining Schengen area


22:32, December 08, 2022

Austria's Interior Minister Gerhard Karner said Thursday his country will veto EU members Romania and Bulgaria joining the passport-free Schengen area, as he attended a meeting of EU colleagues in Brussels.

Austrian Minister of the Interior Gerhard Karner speaks during a news conference about the results of the repatriation conference in Vienna, Austria, Tuesday, Feb. 22, 2022. (Photo: AP)

The meeting of EU interior ministers was expected to approve Croatia joining Schengen, which currently encompasses 22 of the EU's 27 member countries plus Switzerland, Norway, Liechtenstein and Iceland.

Source(s): AFP

Terms of Service & Privacy Policy

We have updated our privacy policy to comply with the latest laws and regulations. The updated policy explains the mechanism of how we collect and treat your personal data. You can learn more about the rights you have by reading our terms of service. Please read them carefully. By clicking AGREE, you indicate that you have read and agreed to our privacy policies

Agree and continue