WORLD Bangladeshi PM Hasina sworn in for 3rd straight term


Bangladeshi PM Hasina sworn in for 3rd straight term


20:14, January 07, 2019

DHAKA, Jan. 7 (Xinhua) -- Bangladeshi Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina was sworn in here on Monday for her third straight five-year term. 


Sheikh Hasina(File photo: AP)

Hasina took the oath of office about a week after her ruling Bangladesh Awami League party won a landslide victory in the national election marred by violence. 

President Abdul Hamid also swore in 24 cabinet ministers, 19 ministers of state and three deputy ministers at the ceremony at the presidential residence in Dhaka.

Ex-Prime Minister Khaleda Zia's opposition alliance leaders were absent from the swearing-in ceremony.

Seven MPs from Khaleda Zia's Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP)-led major opposition alliance skipped the oath-taking ceremony of new lawmakers. 

Hasina's Awami League now forms its straight third five-year term government in a row since January 2009 after ruling the country in 1996-2001.

The BNP rejected the election results, alleging various irregularities.

Joint General Secretary of Bangladesh Awami League Jahangir Kabir Nanak said the election was held in free, fair and peaceful manner with the participation of all parties.

Related Stories

Terms of Service & Privacy Policy

We have updated our privacy policy to comply with the latest laws and regulations. The updated policy explains the mechanism of how we collect and treat your personal data. You can learn more about the rights you have by reading our terms of service. Please read them carefully. By clicking AGREE, you indicate that you have read and agreed to our privacy policies

Agree and continue