WORLD Japan's entry ban to include 73 countries, regions amid COVID-19 outbreak


Japan's entry ban to include 73 countries, regions amid COVID-19 outbreak


21:32, April 01, 2020


File photo

TOKYO, April 1 (Xinhua) -- Japan will expand its entry ban to 73 countries and regions including the Americas and Africa in an effort to curb the continued rise in COVID-19 infections, Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe said Wednesday.

Speaking at a meeting of a government task force on the country's response to the disease, Abe said the new ban will be imposed from Friday and remain effective until the end of the month.

Foreign nationals who have been in the 73 countries and regions within 14 days of their arrival in Japan will be refused entry.

The 49 newly added countries and regions include Australia, Britain, Brazil, Canada, New Zealand, China's Taiwan, Morocco and the United States, along with most of European countries and many countries of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations.

Japan also plans to broaden its ban to the whole of China and South Korea from selected areas.

Japanese nationals returning from the listed countries and regions will be asked to undergo virus tests, and all incoming travelers will be requested to self-quarantine and refrain from using public transportation for 14 days, Abe said.

The Japanese Foreign Ministry has already raised its travel advisory to Level 3 for the 49 countries and regions, suggesting Japanese nationals avoid all travel.

Related Stories

Terms of Service & Privacy Policy

We have updated our privacy policy to comply with the latest laws and regulations. The updated policy explains the mechanism of how we collect and treat your personal data. You can learn more about the rights you have by reading our terms of service. Please read them carefully. By clicking AGREE, you indicate that you have read and agreed to our privacy policies

Agree and continue