WORLD Philippine ruling political party names new president


Philippine ruling political party names new president


19:07, July 17, 2021

Energy Secretary Alfonso Cusi (File photo)

MANILA, July 17 (Xinhua) -- Philippine ruling party, Partido Demokratiko Pilipino-Lakas ng Bayan (PDP-Laban), elected Energy Secretary Alfonso Cusi as the new president during a national assembly convened by Philippine President Rodrigo Duterte on Saturday.

Duterte, the party chair, led the national assembly held in Clark Freeport Zone in Pampanga province north of Manila. In his speech at the assembly, Duterte thanked his party mates for their continued support of his leadership.

"Your presence here sends a clear and resounding message to everyone that our party is as strong as ever and that we are united in further consolidating our ranks until the end of my term and beyond," Duterte said.

Duterte, 76, ends his single six-year term in June 2022. The PDP-Laban has been the ruling party since 2016 under the Duterte Administration.

Terms of Service & Privacy Policy

We have updated our privacy policy to comply with the latest laws and regulations. The updated policy explains the mechanism of how we collect and treat your personal data. You can learn more about the rights you have by reading our terms of service. Please read them carefully. By clicking AGREE, you indicate that you have read and agreed to our privacy policies

Agree and continue