WORLD Russia bans entry for 9 Canadian citizens


Russia bans entry for 9 Canadian citizens


08:41, June 08, 2021

MOSCOW, June 7 (Xinhua) -- The Russian Foreign Ministry announced Monday nine Canadian citizens are banned from entering Russia.

A view of the Kremlin in Moscow on December 17, 2020. (Photo: AFP)

"In response to the illegal sanctions imposed by the Canadian government on March 24, 2021, against citizens of Russia under the far-fetched pretext of allegedly persecuting Russian citizen Alexey Navalny, convicted of illegal acts, it was decided to ban the entry to Russia on an indefinite basis for the following persons holding Canadian citizenship," it said in a statement.

The banned citizens include Canada's Justice Minister and Attorney General David Lametti, Commissioner of the Correctional Service of Canada Anne Kelly, Commissioner of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police Brenda Lucki, among others.

Moscow said Canada continues to support an anti-Russian agenda on the international arena, adding that the banned citizens were involved in pursuing this course.

The ministry said that while Canada's actions led to the deterioration of bilateral ties, Russia remains open to developing a "relationship on the basis of mutual respect."

Terms of Service & Privacy Policy

We have updated our privacy policy to comply with the latest laws and regulations. The updated policy explains the mechanism of how we collect and treat your personal data. You can learn more about the rights you have by reading our terms of service. Please read them carefully. By clicking AGREE, you indicate that you have read and agreed to our privacy policies

Agree and continue