WORLD S. Africa's ruling party nominates candidates for top positions


S. Africa's ruling party nominates candidates for top positions


02:02, December 18, 2017


Photo: ANC 

South African ruling party, the African National Congress (ANC), on Sunday nominated candidates for top party positions for the next five years.

This follows the expiry of those who were elected five years ago including ANC President Jacob Zuma, also South Africa's president. The nominations were done at the 54th ANC national congress taking place in Johannesburg.

The ANC has nominated both ANC deputy president Cyril Ramaphosa and former AU Commission chairperson Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma to run for the position of ANC president. Ramaphosa was nominated by 1,469 branches from six provinces while Dlamini-Zuma was nominated by 1,094 branches from six provinces.

Those nominated for the ANC deputy president position were David Mabuza and Lindiwe Sisulu.

Ace Magashule and Senzo Mchunu were nominated for the position of the ANC secretary general while Jessie Duarte and Zingiswa Losi were nominated to the position of the ANC deputy secretary general.

The treasurer general post would be battled out by Paul Mashatile and Maite Nkoana-Mashabane, while Gwede Mantashe and Nathi Mthethwa were nominated to the position of the ANC national chairperson.

Voting results are expected to be announced on Monday. Voting process would not be open to the media. The congress would also elect 80 national executive council members of the ANC. 

Related Stories

Terms of Service & Privacy Policy

We have updated our privacy policy to comply with the latest laws and regulations. The updated policy explains the mechanism of how we collect and treat your personal data. You can learn more about the rights you have by reading our terms of service. Please read them carefully. By clicking AGREE, you indicate that you have read and agreed to our privacy policies

Agree and continue