WORLD Slovenia expels 33 Russia diplomats


Slovenia expels 33 Russia diplomats


07:02, April 06, 2022

Destroyed cars seen on a highway 20km from Kyiv. (Photo: SOPA Images/LightRocket via Getty Images)

Slovenia on Tuesday announced that it had decided to expel 33 Russian diplomats in a show of solidarity with Ukraine amid the ongoing Russian military operation there.

It noted that the decision to expel the Russian diplomats was made in accordance with Article 11 of the Vienna Convention on Diplomatic Relations.

Other European countries have also expelled Russian diplomats.

Estonia earlier on Tuesday closed the Russian Consulate General in Narva and the embassy office in Tartu and expelled 14 Russian diplomats.

Latvian Foreign Minister Edgars Rinkevics said on Tuesday that the country has decided to close Russian Consulates General in Daugavpils and Liepaja and to expel 13 Russian diplomats and employees.

EU foreign policy chief Josep Borrell on the other hand declared a number of employees of the Permanent Mission of Russia to the EU persona non grata.

Terms of Service & Privacy Policy

We have updated our privacy policy to comply with the latest laws and regulations. The updated policy explains the mechanism of how we collect and treat your personal data. You can learn more about the rights you have by reading our terms of service. Please read them carefully. By clicking AGREE, you indicate that you have read and agreed to our privacy policies

Agree and continue