TRAVEL European Commission proposes to extend entry ban to EU until mid-June


European Commission proposes to extend entry ban to EU until mid-June


04:14, May 09, 2020


(File photo: CGTN)

BRUSSELS, May 8 (Xinhua) -- The European Commission on Friday invited the member and associated states of the Schengen area without border controls -- a total of 30 countries -- to extend the temporary restriction on non-essential travel to the European Union (EU) for another 30 days, until June 15.

The Commission first invited the heads of state or government on March 16 to introduce the entry ban, which doesn't apply to doctors, nurses, healthcare workers, researchers or experts helping to cope with the coronavirus, as well as persons carrying goods, frontier workers and seasonal agricultural workers.

The de facto entry ban, as well as the invitation to extend it, applies to all EU member states except Ireland (Schengen member states), as well as four Schengen associated states (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland).

The coronavirus pandemic situation remains fragile both in Europe and worldwide, so continued measures are still needed at the external borders to reduce the risk of the disease spreading through travel, the EU executive said.

Related Stories

Terms of Service & Privacy Policy

We have updated our privacy policy to comply with the latest laws and regulations. The updated policy explains the mechanism of how we collect and treat your personal data. You can learn more about the rights you have by reading our terms of service. Please read them carefully. By clicking AGREE, you indicate that you have read and agreed to our privacy policies

Agree and continue