WORLD 10 European naitons regret US pulling out Open Skies Treaty


10 European naitons regret US pulling out Open Skies Treaty


21:02, May 22, 2020

PARIS, May 22 (Xinhua) -- Ten European nations on Friday issued a joint statement regretting the United States's withdrawal from the Open Skies Treaty, which they consider "a crucial element of the confidence-building framework that has been created over the past decades to increase transparency and security across the Euro-Atlantic area."


File photo: VCG

"We regret the announcement by the government of the United States of its intention to withdraw from the Open Skies Treaty, although we share its concerns regarding the implementation of treaty provisions by Russia," said the foreign ministers of France, Germany, Belgium, Spain, Finland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Czech Republic and Sweden in the statement.

"We will continue to implement the Open Skies Treaty which has obvious added value for our conventional arms control architecture and our common security," said the statement.

"We reaffirm that this treaty remains functional and useful. The withdrawal becomes effective after a period of six months," it added.

"On matters relating to the implementation of the treaty, we will continue dialogues with Russia as previously agreed between NATO allies and other European partners in order to resolve outstanding issues such as undue restrictions imposed on flights over Kaliningrad," it said.

U.S. President Donald Trump said Thursday the United States is withdrawing from the Treaty on Open Skies, the latest move to abandon a major international arms control agreement.

Related Stories

Terms of Service & Privacy Policy

We have updated our privacy policy to comply with the latest laws and regulations. The updated policy explains the mechanism of how we collect and treat your personal data. You can learn more about the rights you have by reading our terms of service. Please read them carefully. By clicking AGREE, you indicate that you have read and agreed to our privacy policies

Agree and continue