TECH SpaceX Crew Dragon undocks from International Space Station

TECH

SpaceX Crew Dragon undocks from International Space Station

Xinhua

11:04, August 02, 2020

WASHINGTON, Aug. 1 (Xinhua) -- The SpaceX Crew Dragon "Endeavour" spacecraft carrying NASA astronauts Robert Behnken and Douglas Hurley undocked from the forward end of the International Space Station (ISS) on Saturday to complete a two-month mission.

dragon2.jpg

This NASA image released July 7, 2020 shows the SpaceX Crew Dragon (CenterR), the Japanese H-II Transfer Vehicle-9 resupply ship (C bottom) and Europe's Columbus laboratory module as they figure prominently in this photograph taken.

The spacecraft undocked from Harmony module of the ISS at 7:35 p.m. EDT (2335 GMT), said NASA.

Two very small engine burns separated Crew Dragon from the ISS, and the spacecraft is slowly maneuvering away from the orbital laboratory into an orbital track that will return the astronaut crew and its cargo safely to Earth, according to NASA.

Once flying free, the spacecraft will autonomously execute four departure burns to move the spaceship away from the ISS and begin the flight home.

NASA and SpaceX are targeting Pensacola in the Gulf of Mexico as the primary return location for splashdown and recovery for Crew Dragon with two American astronauts, scheduled at 2:41 p.m. Eastern Time (1841 GMT) on Sunday.

The two astronauts arrived at the ISS in the Crew Dragon on May 31 following a launch from NASA's Kennedy Space Center in Florida.

Related Stories

Terms of Service & Privacy Policy

We have updated our privacy policy to comply with the latest laws and regulations. The updated policy explains the mechanism of how we collect and treat your personal data. You can learn more about the rights you have by reading our terms of service. Please read them carefully. By clicking AGREE, you indicate that you have read and agreed to our privacy policies

Agree and continue